ShareFile's Professional and above plans include a file versioning feature. This feature allows you to view different versions of a file uploaded with the same name. If your account has file versioning enabled then you will not see the option to overwrite files on the upload page. Any files with the same name will automatically be saved as the latest version, with the option to view earlier versions. This ensures that if a team is working on a document, no changes will be lost between updates or edits.
When a file has multiple versions you will see an icon to the right of the file:
When you click on this icon you will have the option to view previous versions of the file and delete any that are no longer needed:
Note: It is required for File Versioning to be enabled on your account in order to use the ShareFile Sync tool.
How many versions of files will be saved?
By default, File Versioning will save unlimited versions of a given file to allow you to see the entire history of any files on your account.
If you would like to limit the number of versions of files that will be saved and available on your account at any time, you can also set a maximum number of versions on a folder by folder basis.
In order to make this change, a folder administrator will need to log in and click on the name of the folder where you would like to set this limit to open the folder screen. Then, hover the mouse over the drop down arrow directly to the right of the folder's title. From the drop down menu that will open, click Edit Folder Options.
On the folder options screen, you can use the Maximum Versions drop down menu to pick a number of versions that can be saved, or click Custom to enter a different value. You can also choose to apply the same setting to all of the subfolders of this folder. When you are finished, click the Save button.
Please note that this will immediately cut the number of versions down to the number that you choose, so for example if you had 8 versions of a file stored in a folder but then change the settings so that only 5 will be saved, the three oldest versions will be deleted immediately when the setting takes place.