There are two options on setting a retention policy. These options are only available to Professional and above plans. To set a policy, click into the root level folder you would like to set the policy on. You can then either click on the drop down to the right of the folder name or the link on the right for Edit Folder Options.
1. You can set a file retention policy:
- You have the option to have files deleted 1day, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days, 60 days, 90 days, 6 months, 1 year or 2 years after they are uploaded. This applies to all files in the root level folder and all of its subfolders.
2. You can set a folder expiration date:
- This is a set date that this root level folder and all its subfolders will be deleted.
Note: You must be an owner/creator on the folder to set a policy.
Before files/folders are removed a warning message will be displayed to the right of the item in your account. All files/folders deleted by a policy will be placed in your Recycle Bin.
1. If you set both a folder expiration date and a file retention policy, the most restrictive policy will take effect. For example, if the folder expiration date is set to one week from today's date and the file retention policy is set to 30 days then the folders and all its contents will be deleted under the one week policy.
2. When moving files and folders, they will inherit the new parent/root level folders' policy. For example, if you move a file from your File Box into a folder with a retention policy of 90 days, then the file will inherit a expiration date of 90 days from its uploaded date.
3. When setting a new policy or changing a policy on an existing folder there will be an automatic 7 day warning. For example, if you uploaded a file six months ago and today set a file retention policy for 30 days, then the file will be set to delete in 7 days to avoid any accidental deletions.